Disclaimer: The State Law Library cannot tell you what a law means for your situation. Please contact an attorney for help determining what the law means for you. If you have questions or need help finding resources, please ask a librarian.
Disclaimer: The State Law Library cannot tell you what a law means for your situation.
This is a statewide service from the Texas State Bar of Texas that helps connect residents across the state with a lawyer in their area. This service may be of particular interest to Texans in counties where there is no local lawyer referral service or local bar association. This service allows for an initial 30-minute legal consultation for $20.
The Jefferson County Bar Association maintains a list of lawyers in the area and offers a lawyer referral help line. Attorneys listed on their website have agreed to provide individuals with an initial 30-minute consultation for $20.
The North Dallas Bar Association maintains a list of lawyers in the area and offers lawyer referrals via email. Attorneys listed on their website have agreed to provide individuals with an initial 30-minute consultation for $20.
Those living in the Rio Grande Valley region including Cameron, Hidalgo, Starr, and Willacy Counties can call the Hidalgo County Bar Association's Lawyer Referral Service to be connected to an attorney. Phone services are also available in Spanish.
This non-profit lawyer referral service serves residents of Travis, Hays, Bastrop, and Williamson counties. Referrals are free, but a fee of $20 may apply for the first 30-minute consultation with a lawyer. The organization also offers a Modest Means Program that provides reduced fee legal services for family law issues, wills, and guardianships. This program is designed for those who may not qualify for Legal Aid but who cannot afford full legal fees. The organization’s Limited Scope Representation Program can connect you with an attorney who is willing to assist you on a limited basis for a reduced fee.
This service by the San Antonio Bar Association connects area residents with an attorney who suits their needs. A telephone referral service is offered free of charge, and an online Automatic Referral Portal is available 24/7 for a $30 fee.
The Corpus Christi Bar Association provides a lawyer referral service for those living in the Corpus Christi area. Calls are accepted Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. until noon and from 1 p.m. until 5 p.m.
With a roster of over 200 attorneys, this non-profit referral service is for individuals in the Houston metropolitan area, which includes Harris, Mongtomery, Fort Bend, Brazoria, and Galveston counties. Referrals are provided free of charge, and 30-minute office consultations are available for $20.