Disclaimer: The State Law Library is unable to give legal advice, legal opinions or any interpretation of the law. It is strongly recommended that you contact an attorney for advice specific to your situation. If you have questions about anything in this guide, please ask a librarian.
Disclaimer: The State Law Library is unable to give legal advice, legal opinions or any interpretation of the law.
This announcement states that DPS "will begin reopening driver license (DL) offices by appointment only and with limited services. The reopening of DL offices will happen in a phased approach". It also says that "he extension of the expiration of Texas DL/CDL/ID/Election Identification Certificate (EIC) cards remains in effect. This means that all Texas DL/CDL/ID/EIC cards that expired on or after March 13, 2020, [...] will remain valid for 60 days after [...] DPS issues public notice that the extension period has been lifted and all normal operations have resumed."
This pres release announces that the Governor has "directed the Department of Public Safety (DPS) to temporarily waive expiration dates for Driver Licenses, Commercial Driver Licenses, and other identification forms." The announcement also mentions that "This suspension will be in effect until 60 days after the DPS provides further public notice that normal Driver License operations have resumed."
The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles website states that "granting a temporary extension to obtain initial registration, renewal of registration, vehicle titling, and renewal of a permanent disabled parking placard. Governor Abbott also granted a temporary extension for an individual with an expired 30-day temporary permit to obtain another permit or Texas registration."