At this time, the federal moratoriums on certain types of evictions for residential tenants have ended:
While the eviction moratorium in the CARES Act has expired, it's possible that the requirement for the extra 30-day notice to vacate in addition to the notice required by Texas law is still in effect. An article from Texas Law Help has more details:
The CARES Act notice requirement applied to any property that is "insured, guaranteed, supplemented, or assisted in any way, by any officer or agency of the Federal Government."
There is some disagreement about whether this requirement is still in effect. However, many advocates believe that tenants are still entitled to a 30-Day Notice to Vacate if the landlord:
- Participates in any qualifying federal housing program, such as Section 8 or Housing Choice
- Has been partially purchased by or received loans from Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac
You may want to speak to a lawyer for help determining if the 30-day notice to vacate requirement in the CARES Act applies in your situation
The Texas Eviction Diversion Program expired in July of 2023. This program allowed tenants waiting for rent assistance to pause eviction cases.
The Texas Rent Relief Program ended in July of 2023 after all the available funds were distributed. This federally-funded program provided financial assistance for rent and utility bills for tenants at risk of eviction due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
There are several programs administered by the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs that offer financial assistance with past due utility bills. There may also be local assistance in your area.
The Homeowner Assistance Fund (HAF) was created by Congress as part of the American Rescue Plan. It is intended to prevent issues like foreclosure and mortgage delinquencies and defaults. Funds from the HAF may be used for: Funds from the HAF may be used for:
The Texas version of this program is administered by the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA).