Disclaimer: The State Law Library is unable to give legal advice, legal opinions or any interpretation of the law. It is strongly recommended that you contact an attorney for advice specific to your situation. If you have questions about anything in this guide, please ask a librarian.
Disclaimer: The State Law Library is unable to give legal advice, legal opinions or any interpretation of the law.
Though not required, Section 2.013 of the Texas Family Code encourages those applying for a marriage license to attend a premarital education course of at least eight hours during the year preceding the date of the application for the license. Couples who can provide proof of their completion of one of the approved courses may have the 72 hour waiting period waived (must be completed not more than a year before applying for a marriage license). Those who complete a course may also save up to $60 on their marriage license fee.
Below you will find references to areas of the Texas law related to premarital education. If you find these statutes difficult to understand, please see the Understanding the Law resources below for a "plain English" explanation of these laws.