Deceptive Trade Practices Act (DTPA)

The Deceptive Trade Practices Act (DTPA) is a major Texas consumer protection law. It is found in Chapter 17 of the Texas Business & Commerce Code.

The DTPA is broad and applies to many different situations. This includes:

making false or misleading statements;
failing to disclose problems or defects with products;
advertising goods without an intent to sell as advertised;
promoting pyramid schemes;
price gouging during natural disasters;
and more.

Texas Law

Chapter 17 of the Texas Business & Commerce Code
This is the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act.
Section 17.46 of the Texas Business & Commerce Code
Discusses deceptive trade practices unlawful.
Section 17.50 of the Texas Business & Commerce Code
This section of Texas Business & Commerce Code discusses Texas law and consumer relief.

Learn More

A list of related guides.

Who can I contact?

There are multiple different government and non-profit organizations that accept complaints related to consumer law. They typically cannot help with individual cases, but may investigate the violation.

Texas & Federal Agencies

Texas Attorney General - File a Consumer Complaint
The office of the Texas Attorney General accepts consumer complaints.
Federal Trade Commission - Filing a Complaint
The Federal Trade Commission allows you to file a consumer complaint.
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
This page from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau allows consumers to submit a wide variety of complaints including complaints against mortgage companies, credit card companies, banks, credit reporting agencies, and money transfer companies.
Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner (OCCC)
The mission of the OCCC is to regulate the credit industry and educate consumers and creditors in Texas. They assist consumers who have experienced misrepresentation, fraud, and deceptive practices on the part of the businesses it regulates. Those businesses consist of Texas non-depository lenders: finance companies, pawnshops, home equity lenders, junior lien mortgage lenders, payday lenders, signature loan companies, and retailers who provide financing for their goods (including motor vehicle and manufactured home dealers). They offer a toll-free helpline for consumers to contact them directly with complaints and questions about the businesses licensed or registered with the OCCC. Call the consumer assistance help-line at 800-538-1579 or submit a complaint online.

Non-profit Organizations

National Consumer League's Fraud Center
National Consumer League's Fraud Center, part of the National Consumer League, accepts complaints of internet fraud and telemarketing fraud.
Better Business Bureau (BBB)
The BBB accepts complaints regarding disagreements between businesses and consumers. This page discusses what type of complaints they handle and how those complaints are handled. It provides a link to start a complaint.

Books & E-Books

E-Books

Texas residents can access e-books with a free library account.

Texas DTPA forms & practice guide
The Deceptive Trade Practices Act (DTPA) is the leading consumer protection legislation in Texas. This e-book provides comprehensive, in-depth, and practical information as well as forms and checklists for those involved in a DTPA lawsuit.
The lawyer's guide to the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act
This thorough treatment of the laws surrounding the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act contains the most current research. Coverage includes proper party plaintiffs and defendants, breach of warranty, unconscionability, the insurance code, and interaction with other laws. This annually updated publication contains case law information and appendices with historical versions of the DTPA.
Consumer protection law in a nutshell
"This reliable source explores traditional and emerging areas in consumer protection law. Federal and state law dealing with consumer transactions is covered, including caselaw and statutes. The volume begins with an overview of public (both FTC and CFPB) and private enforcement actions to regulate the marketplace. The remaining chapters track the legal aspects of consumer transactions in a roughly chronological fashion, starting with advertising and marketing, consumer privacy, credit reports and identity theft, and equal access to credit. The discussion continues with coverage of mandated disclosures as well as substantive protections for consumers under the federal credit laws, especially the Truth in Lending Act (TILA), including installment sales, credit cards and real estate related financing." - publisher's description
Unfair and deceptive acts and practices
Part of the Deception and Warranties Library from the National Consumer Law Center, the eighth edition of this title provides a broad overview of unfair and deceptive acts and practices law. Specific chapters focus on scope, demonstrating a UDAP violation, credit and collections, motor vehicle sales, home related transactions, litigating a UDAP case, private remedies, and state agency enforcement.

Books

Available when you visit the library in person.

Texas DTPA forms & practice guide [print book]
Call Number: KFT 1609 B7
Consumer rights and remedies [print book]
Call Number: KFT 209 T4

This title covers a wealth of consumer law topics and serves as a great tool for anyone wishing to research consumer laws on warranties. It also includes practice tips for those who are currently involved in litigation.
Texas consumer law handbook [print book]
Call Number: KFT 209 T4

This title is part of the Texas Practice Series. Chapter 2 subchapter H contains the Contest and Giftaway Act and subchapter I contains the Sweepstakes Act.
West's Texas forms [print book]
Call Number: KFT 170 W4

Chapter 33 of Volume 10 of West's Texas Forms contains forms that may be of use to those filing in small claims court.